Week in Review 9/23/12

Track Photo

I have been fairly pain-free in my hamstrings, periformis and right hip, so I thought it would be a good time to try actually running in my Altra Instinct’s, instead of just slogging along in them (which I have done a few time lately).

Initially, I was slapping the ground in the Instinct’s, it was almost like I hadn’t ever run in them before. After about 1/4 mile, I started to feel more comfortable and at about the 1/2 mile point my stride started to become much smoother and finally after a mile I started to feel comfortable in them again.

I can tell when I am running well with good, because I am running quietly and smoothly.

Overall, my run down back was a good run, after that tough first mile, I was able to maintain a decent pace, after I smoothed out and didn’t feel as though I working nearly as hard as I have been. The best part was that none of the aches or pains that I previously thought might be attributable to way I run in the Altra’s, were evident when I got done!

I like the Altra Instinct’s a lot and am going to try running a little bit more in them this week.

RunLog 9-23-12

Today was the first run in my Altra’s that actually felt right in a long time. I am still a little hesitant to use the Instinct’s for double-digit runs, because of when I get tired I tend to revert to more of a rear-foot landing, but we will see how it goes as I run in them more.

Running Summary This Week

Weekly Summary 9-23-12

This week in a word: Consistent

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. A Challenge For Other Runners
  3. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  4. Dreams Do Come True
  5. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  6. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  7. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  8. The New Nike+ Website is Up
  9. It is Time to Stop Experimenting as Much
  10. Giving Back and a Crappy 10 Miler 9/22/12

My Favorite post from the week: A Challenge For Other Runners

Weight

I bounced between 144 and 148, I haven’t been under 145 since 1985 and is a little lower than I want to be for this point in my training cycles. Next year for the marathon I want to be around 140, but right now I want to stay right around 145-150.

Injuries

No real injuries, but I have continued to experience some discomfort in my hamstrings, butt cheeks (periformis) and right hip – but hopefully they are getting better.

Running Shoes

Newton Gravity

They now have 295 miles on them and are starting to shoe some real wear on the very front of the shoes and there is a clicking noise when I run on the right shoe. So I think they are starting to show their miles. They have been good shoes and I think I can get a few more runs out them, but they are on the down side. I have run some good times on my long runs in them.

Altra Instinct

Now have 144 on them. Since the Newton’s are really starting to get worn, I am going to try running in my Altra’s for runs up to 6 miles, to get used to really running in them again.

Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

No runs in them this week.

Adidas Vigor TR

No runs in them this week, but I know from now on that I will be using them on trails, they do make a difference.

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

The reality is that

I now know that my running form continues to contribute to my discomfort in the back of my upper legs – my butt cheeks and hips. As I worked to I correct this, hopefully, the discomfort seems to be going away.

Thank you for your support and reading posts from "A Veteran Runnah" again this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw and published at "A Veteran Runnah" © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah" with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

2 comments on “Week in Review 9/23/12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

