Got in 6.0 Miles in Cold and Rain 9/29/12

P9290007This was one of those days when I had to move things around to accommodate getting my run in.

Usually on Saturday’s I head out for a longer run around 9:30 and finish up when I finish with no pressure on the time.

Today I was helping out with a local college’s cross country team and needed to leave the house at 10:00 to pick up a runner. So no long run this morning.

Did I say how much I enjoy helping out and watching college kids run? Well I do and I am learning a lot about different running forms and getting to be a spectator is different than being a participant. However, one thing about being a spectator is that you are not running/moving and with the temps in the 40’s, a steady rain and a little wind made it chilly.

By the time I got home, I was thoroughly chilled and couldn’t seem to get warm. Finally, I got to go running around 4:00 and decided to only do 6.0 and do my longer run tomorrow. So I didn’t bother trying out the Injini today, I want to run a long run in them. Plus the weather hadn’t gotten any better, after the first 100 yards, I had already taken my glasses off, just couldn’t see anything and I could see better without them – scary huh.

I also ran in my Adidas Adizero Sonic 3 for the first time in a while and while I can run very comfortably in them, I also run very slow in them??? They are a great shoe for me to run in when I don’t really care about how fast I run, but not if I want to hit a faster time goal. My splits were:

  • Mile 1.0 – 8:57
  • Mile 2.0 – 18:05 (9:07)
  • Notta Road Turn Around – 22:20 (4.15)
  • Mile 3.0 – 26:25 (4:05)
  • Mile 4.0 – 35:50 (9:24)
  • Mile 5.0 – 46:07 (10:17)
  • Mile 6.0 – 55:07 (9:00)

I lost focus between miles 4-5 and coasted too much in that are, then I picked it back up when I got off the dirt road.

Overall I was happy that I got the run in, because I came very close to bagging it and not worrying about running at all today. Will do my longer run tomorrow, somewhere between 10-15, depending on how I am feeling at the time.

RunLog 9-29-12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

