Mizuno Elixir 7’s are Looking Like Something Special and RunLog 10/8/12

Bright Color PhotoYou know something is up and I know what it is. My running suddenly improved last Friday, my pace is faster by almost 20 (or more) seconds a mile on my training runs on average and I have set 2 training course records:

  • Friday 28 seconds off my Notta Road 5.0 Miler
  • Monday 4 minutes 26 seconds off my Pond Road 10 Miler

The only differences are the weather is cooling down and the Mizuno Elixir 7’s that I was provided for review purposes through Mizuno’s Mezamashii Project. The cooler weather is nice, but it has been that way for a few weeks now and I have run these courses slower in the cooler weather this fall.

No I really attribute a lot of the drop in times to the Elixir’s. The more that I run in them the more impressed I am becoming. They let me run the way that I run, nothing more, nothing less.

PA050017

On today’s 10.0 mile run I never really gave more than 80% effort, except coming up Bartlett Hill, I haven’t run this way in a long time (it feels great to just be running again) and the best part is that the minor aches and pains that have plagued me over the past couple of months, don’t seem to be bothering me nearly as much.

Basically, since I started running in the Mizuno’s, I have stopped trying to think so much about how I am running and am focusing more on just running, so far it feels damn good.

NikePlus 10-8-12

I was pleasantly surprised at having a 7:48 mile for mile 7 to 8 being able to run that fast after 7.0 miles well just helped my confidence an awful lot, not to say that I am all that fast, but to do this on a training run – well…

Although Nike+ says 9.9, I actually did the full 10.0 miles according to iSmoothRun, it is the difference between the GPS signal loss and the program’s use of the accelerometer.

This also includes the 20-30 seconds I lost on the last mile when the neighbor’s golden lab came out and wanted to play/run with me Smile. Was a little frustrated, but that is what dogs will do if they are loose, especially when they “know” you.

RunLog 10-8-12

Disclosure: I volunteered to participate in a FitFluential campaign, which resulted in my being selected for the Mizuno Mezamashii Project. Although I received the Mizuno Elixir shoes as a media sample to review, the opinions of this product are my own and I have not received any other compensation as part of this review.

After 4 runs in the Mizuno Elixir 7’s, if Mizuno asked me to send them back, I would offer to buy them and if they refused, I would drive down to the Maine Running Company in Brunswick and buy another pair. That is how impressed I am so far with these shoes. For me they they run like I do and I can’t give a shoe any higher recommendation than I would spend my own money on them.

7 comments on “Mizuno Elixir 7’s are Looking Like Something Special and RunLog 10/8/12

  1. Wow man! That is so sweet! I wish I could say the same, but I can’t I’m in a funk. I did my last 20 miler yesterday before the MCM in 20 days. It wasn’t the ugliest nor the prettiest, but I finished it. I start my taper and I’m reevaluating my goals. It will be tough to beat my USAF Marathon time, but that is my goal, to do better than 4:56:55. I’m still plagued with shin issues up until the 4th mile which takes me out of my rythm. Although my sciatic nerve issue seems to be somewhat gone. I will start experimenting with shoes after the MCM to find “my pair” that work for me. I hope I find one as special as those seem to be for you. Way to ROCK IT man! 🙂

    • Thanks Smiddy – You have been putting a lot of miles on your mind and body and are tired. Trust you training and you will do GREAT! Shoes do make a difference as I am finding out, I just hope that I feel the same at 300+ miles 🙂

  2. Well I’m gonna call this a match made in heaven! Curious, since you dabble in minimalism–what kind of heel drop do they have?

    • Amanda – they are listed as a 12MM drop, but feel more like the Kinvara 2 or Peregrines that I used to run in as far as drop goes. So far so happy, let’s see how they feel at the running shoe precipice of 300 miles, that will be the true test! 🙂

  3. Pingback: AVR Week In Review 10/14/12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

