Mizuno Wave Elixir 7–50 Mile Review

IMG_0081I received a pair of Mizuno Wave Elixir 7’s as part of the Mezamashii Project and as a FitFluential Ambassador just over a week ago.

As of today they have 50.8 miles on them. 50 Miles is usually a good point to do have found out things that you like and dislike about a pair of running shoes.

The Elixir’s are promoted as a light-weight supportive trainer, that could also double as a racing shoe for some.

They are not a minimalist or low-drop shoe, like most of the shoes that I have run in this year. They are a traditional running shoe with a 12MM drop, however, comparing how I run in them versus other lower drop shoes, I really don’t notice that much of a difference. The Elixir’s to me feel lower than their published stats.

So how have the Elixir 7’s done for me?

Very, very well, they have the potential be a very special running shoe in my shoe rotation!

Over the course of the week I have run three training course records and even a personal best for 13.1 miles, which surprised me, since I hadn’t started out with the idea of trying to go very fast. I feel that I am running faster in these than I do in other shoes. Also I run quietly in the Elixir’s, I don’t slap the ground with them, which means that I am running more efficiently.

They have done well on the variety of running surfaces that I have used them on so far – tar, dirt roads, non-technical trails and the shoulder of the roads up heah in my area. They don’t accumulate rocks like other shoes have, but I did manage to wedge an acorn in the heel cut-out, so that could be an issue with rocks and stuff getting stuck in there now and again.

PA050018

IMG_0078

They have provided good traction and protection on  the shoulders/ditches, when I have to get into them pretty quickly as a vehicle flies by, which is an important consideration when there is no place else to go.

Of all the shoes that I have tried this year the Mizuno Wave Elixir 7’s have had the best first 50 miles. The Mizuno Elixir 7’s is that they run the way that I run. I don’t find myself forcing a certain stride or landing style – instead I have been able to focus more on just running and that is what I need right now.

To just run.

I am learning that you have to look beyond a shoe’s published statistics i.e. drop, stack height, etc. and just run in a shoe to see how they work for you.

IMG_0080

If you are looking for a light-weight running shoe, with some motion control features that could double as a race shoe, take a look at the Elixir’s, they might be what you are looking for. So far they have been what I have been looking for.

Thank you Mizuno for selecting me to be a part of your Mezamashii Project, otherwise I would not have had the opportunity to run in the Elixir 7’s and found out how good a shoe they are and how much I am enjoying running in them.

I hope I feel the same way at 300 or more miles.

Disclaimer: I received these shoes as a free media sample and a FitFluential Ambassador participating in Mizuno’s Mezamashii Project. All comments and views about this shoe are my own and I did not receive any other forms of compensation for doing this review.

9 comments on “Mizuno Wave Elixir 7–50 Mile Review

    • I really like the Elixir’s so far, but you need to look at what kind of running you are going to do, the mileage you plan on running and the style of running that you use (your form) and then what fits your feet and style the best. Good luck finding “that” running shoe is an elusive project.

  1. Great review! I have the female version of these and plan to run in them for both of my upcoming marathons. I’ve always been happy with Mizunos and LOVE their stuff! –Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

    • Erika – That is great to hear, I haven’t heard or read too many bad reviews of the Elixir’s and I plan to run my upcoming half in them. These are completely different than the pair of Mizuno’s I ran in a few years ago. My problem is that none of the local stores carry Mizuno and I have to drive 40+ miles just to try a pair on. I am old fashioned that way, want to try my running shoes on the first time I try a new style. But with the Elixir’s the sizing ran true. 🙂

  2. Pingback: AVR Week In Review 10/14/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  3. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review #RWHalf the Main Story 10/21/12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

