AVR – Week In Review #RWHalf the Main Story 10/21/12

This has been one of those weeks that I will remember for the rest of my life!!!

I got to go to the Runner’s World inaugural Half Event as a FitFluential Blogger. It was simply amazing all the great people who I got to meet (both at Runner’s World and other FitFluential Ambassadors). We were treated fantastically and it was worth driving down from Maine to attend the Event!!!

I drove down on Wednesday, to give my body a chance to recover from the drive and look around Bethlehem. On Thursday night we had the opportunity to attend a BBQ at the Runner’s World Offices, meet the editors and get a tour of the offices.

On Thursday we got a chance to Run around Bethlehem with Bart Yasso, attend a Altra Running clinic and then sit and talk/photo opp with Shelaine Flanagan. All of which was very cool.

After a pretty wet run around Bethlehem :-).

On Saturday, I ran in the 5K and finished with a 21

Which meant that I also finished second in my age group (that 55 to 59 group)

A picture taken by Katherine @ Neon Blonde Runner – First time at a major race like this that I have ever been on the podium, it was very exciting and way cool. It was a complete shock and surprise when my name was announced. One of the highlights was when Shelaine shook my hand when I was going back down the ramp and said “Great job Harold”.

Today’s Half Marathon – no I didn’t get on the podium I would have had to run a sub 1:29 to even get close :-). However, I did give it my all, and went out to try and break 1:40:00, but my hamstrings didn’t coöperate and I finished 1:41:10

My official results

Right after the finish.

It was definitely a great experience and one that I won’t forget any time soon! I will be writing a bunch of other posts about this weekend over the course of the week and putting up more photos.

Week in Review

Running Summary This Week

This week in a word: Great

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. #RWHalf Rave Run Through Bethlehem – 10/19/12
  4. Runner’s World 5K Recap 10/20/12
  5. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  6. Runner’s World Meet and Greet BBQ
  7. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  8. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  9. Initial Review & Run in Adidas Vigor TR
  10. Looking at the #RWHalf Courses

My Favorite post from the week: Runner’s World 5K Recap 10/20/12

Weight

I stayed around 145 for the first of the week and don’t have a clue for the rest of it, but not very worried about it.

Injuries

No real injuries, but I have continued to experience some discomfort and tiredness in my hamstrings, butt cheeks (periformis) and right hip, they are also improving considerably over the past week. The hammies, didn’t like the half marathon and are barking a little right now :-).

Running Shoes

Mizuno Elixir 7

These were the shoes that I got free as media samples through my participation in the Mezamashii Project. They have 77.2 miles and here is my 50 mile review. I wore them during the Half Marathon and didn’t have any issues whatsoever with my feet. Needless to say I am enjoying these shoes a lot!

Mizuno Ronin

13.7 Miles. I wore them during the Runner’s Work 5K on Saturday and had a this year PR and came in second in my age group, very impressed so far. Personal Purchase.

Altra Instinct

Still have 165.7 miles on them. One run in the rain with the Group run with Bart Yasso and Golden from Altra Running. Didn’t bother me during the run, plus Golden figured out what I was doing to over-activate my hamstrings which is causing the discomfort. Now I just have to work on correcting that issue and hopefully that allows me to run in the Altra’s more. Personal Purchase.

Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

No runs in them this week, but I have used them as my primary walking shoe and they have done well. Personal Purchase.

Adidas Vigor TR

No trail runs in them this week. Personal Purchase.

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

The reality is that

This weekend has been a fantastic experience and one that I will never forget! The most important thing is all the people who I met.

I do want to say one thing. A while back I had a few people who were reading my blog, that didn’t believe that I was doing the mileage that I was writing about or that I couldn’t possibly be running that fast. Those few who took this stance, please look closely at the official results of these races on fairly challenging courses. I don’t lie, I did the workouts as I wrote them and the proof of this work are my times in those events in an “Official” major running event. I hope that this is proof enough of my running abilities and that I do the work necessary for my running.

I believe that I have a few witnesses who will vouch for my running. 🙂

Thank you for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah” again this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

FTC Disclaimer: My registration for the Runner’s World 5K and Half Marathon were complimentary. I will be blogging about my experiences during this event and all opinions are my own.

I participated in the inaugural Runners World Half Marathon as a FitFluential Ambassador. My race registration was provided by Runners World. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

Originally written by Harold Shaw and published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

23 comments on “AVR – Week In Review #RWHalf the Main Story 10/21/12

  1. Wow, looks like a fantastic week overall for you! Great job on both races. I’m fairly impressed at your training log. I always wear the exact same pair of shoes until they are done, then I switch. Do you find a benefit to alternating shoes throughout the week?

    • For me I like to change things up a little, each shoe is slightly different and works your muscles differently. there are a lot of differences of opinion on this issue, but it works for me – alternating different shoes. I can’t really say whether it would work for you? It is especially beneficial if you have to run in the rain, snow, mud, etc. to let the other shoes dry out 🙂

  2. Let me vouch not only for your running ability overall, but for that sprinting at the finish ability! ; )

    It was such a pleasure to meet you this weekend Harold. You have such positive energy–we all enjoyed our time with you! Very glad you got to take in the whole weekend of activities!

  3. Congrats Harold! I was keeping up with your pictures on twitter and facebook this weekend and it looks like you had an amazing time! Maybe next year I will make it over there! (I hope!)

  4. Amen a weekend to never ever forget and new friends for the journey as well. I am so happy to have gotten to know you harold, what a genuine man you are!!!

    Congrats on the half even if it was a teeny tiny bit slower than you wanted

    • Amanda – It was so great to meet you and I will get that sub 1:40 :-). I was amazed at how quickly so many of became so comfortable being around one another, usually I am a lot more reserved and you ladies brought me out of my shell :-).

  5. It sounds like you all had an amazing weekend and I was super jealous seeing all the tweets and instagram photos! Great job on your raced too Harold! That’s so awesome.

    • Thanks Katherine, the hills did get my attention – no doubt about it :-). I think they were skeptical because I improved so much, so rapidly without taking into consideration that I had been a runner for many years.

  6. Pingback: #RWHalf Festival Final Reflection and Recap | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

