Runner’s World Half Marathon Recap 10/21/12

Immediately after finishing the Half Marathon

What an amazing weekend!!!!

Today was the Runner’s World Half Marathon, which was my first “official” Half Marathon. I went into the race with certain expectations, but most of all I tried not to get all stressed out about having to finish with a certain time. The race was not an easy course by any stretch of the imagination as you can see by the below:

Yes the course had just a few hills, they weren’t terrible hills, but they definitely got your attention.

When the race started Β I tucked in behind the 1:40:00 pace group and didn’t try to pass them. Jeff Β (from Runner’s World) and the other pace setter, maintained a perfect pace to bring us in under 1:40:00. I felt good until about mile 6.0 when my hamstrings started to tell me they were they were unhappy with being on my feet so much for the past three days and racing a hard 5K yesterday.

At about mile 8.0 my hamstrings told me that they were done and that I needed to slow down. I was beyond discomfort and into the hurt locker! I thought that i had slowed down a lot more, I still don’t know how I was able to keep the pace as fast as I did. Then during the last mile Amanda from Mizz Zippy motivated me to pick up the pace a little more.

Looking at the splits, I was happy with how consistent I actually was. Sure I would have loved to have broken 1:40:00, but I gave it everything I had and it just wasn’t there on this course.

While the course was challenging, it was a good course!

The volunteers were so fantastic during the entire race. There were so people who were out there cheering all the runners on, it was great to see so much community support! I want to give a special mention to the Bethlehem Police Department – I know that this race messed traffic patterns and many of them had to work on their normal day off. They did a great job controlling Β traffic and cheering runner on, when we went by. Bethlehem you did a great job supporting the Runner’s World Half and all the other races this weekend!!!

I really have to give Runner’s World a huge high 5!!!!! The race was great and all the editors, staff and everyone who was connected with the race were fantastic!

The best part of the race was seeing all the runners that I “know” on Twitter, Facebook, etc. before and after the race today. It sure was motivating to see everyone.

Overall, the Runner’s World Half Marathon was a GREAT way to run my first Half Marathon race and a 4:48 PR was just icing on top!!! I accomplished everything and more this weekend. I raced the 5K and ran the Half according to my original plan :-).

I participated in the inaugural Runners World Half Marathon as a FitFluential Ambassador. My race registration was provided by Runners World. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

20 comments on “Runner’s World Half Marathon Recap 10/21/12

  1. Congatulations Harold, what an awesome race! I enjoyed reading about the course from your blog ahead of time and your preparation paid off- wow, that is a really impressive PR and am glad to have had the chance to follow along from the side lines. I’m considering doing the Marine Corps Marathon, so will follow your prep over the next year as well. You got it done today, and am so happy for you and all the other runners!

  2. Congrats on today’s race! That’s an awesome time. That course was interesting — nothing too extreme, but those hills were definitely attention-grabbing.

    It was great to meet you in person and I hope that our paths can cross again one day. Thanks for all your #runchat support!

    • Thank you David :-). They were definitely enough to add a few minutes on everyone’s time, but hey that is what running is about to challenge ourselves. I am sure that our paths will cross again and I enjoy #Runchat.

  3. Pingback: How to successfully run a 5k….NOT! - See Sean Run

  4. I know you said it wasn’t your strongest race, but I still think you did an AMAZING job! Holding around a 1:40 half on that course is no joke. And after the weekend we had? Even more impressive!

    Hopefully we’ll all be able to meet up again next year. That was such a great weekend. Harold and his Harem need more time together. πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Tina. It would be great to meet there again next year, everyone down thee was so great!!! I still laugh when I hear that – it was funny when Bart first said it and I was glad that no one took to it. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: #RWHalf Festival Final Reflection and Recap | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

